SPI communication 4-20mA T click Transmitter

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
User16901
Level 1
Level 1
Hi,

I am very new to Dave and microcontroller programming in General.

Has anyone ever combined a xmc with the 4-20mA T click Transmitter by mikroElektronika?

I want to use my XMC4300 microcontroller to control a 4-20mA current Loop. The 4-20mA T click communicates with the target board via three SPI lines.
In Dave, I found the SPI_MASTER app and example Code. I tried to set it up. My Goal is to, by sending different values via SPI, using the "SPI_MASTER_Transmit"-function, to change the current within the 4-20mA-loop. However, I am somehow unable to change the current.

I found Driver Code belonging to the Transmitter. Can anyone tell me if it is necassary to include this Code? Is it necassary to do slave configuration like in the SPI_MASTER app example?

I am sorry for the very stupid questions.

Regards!
0 Likes
5 Replies
User15886
Level 1
Level 1
What mode are you running the SPI channel - Direct, Interrupt or DMA? Do you see any of the 3 signals toggling on the board?
The example in the spi_master.h file shows a basic transfer using Direct mode with FIFO.
If you copy that and use the right values to talk to the transmitter it should work, but you have to make sure your baud rate (Bus Speed), word and frame length are correct for the part you are communicating to.

once you get the pins toggling, you can verify with a scope to make sure your timing is correct and adjust them with DAVE as necessary. With the receive FIFO enabled, you can also read back the response (if the part sends one), which might include some status info.
0 Likes
jferreira
Employee
Employee
10 sign-ins 5 sign-ins First like received
Hi,

Just search for MCP49xx Arduino library and make a port of it using XMCLib or the API provided by SPI_MASTER APP.