infineon4engineers Facebook

infineon@google+ Google+

infineon@linkedin linkedin

infineon4engi@twitter twitter

infineon@youtube youtube

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dave 4 compilation problem

  1. #1
    frankmag is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    26
    Points
    82.8125

    Dave 4 compilation problem

    Hi
    I have installed dave 4 into two different pc running windows 7. In one it works. Into the other the compilation process fail with the following error message:
    process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, echo., ...) failed.

    It seems to me that the problem is in the command @echo. that is automatically inserted into the various makefile.
    On dave 3 in the same makefiles was inserted @echo ' '

    Why on one windows 7 pc it works and not in the other? which settings have I to check?
    Is it possible to modify a template so that the automatically generated makefile includes @echo ' ' instead of @echo. ?

    Thanks
    Frank

  2. #2
    Advanced Advanced sophia is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    678
    Points
    2190
    Hi Frank,

    Can you try to change the Current builder from "XMC Builder" to "GNU Make Builder" and see whether it helps?
    (Go to: >Project>Active Project Properties>C/C++ Build> Tool Chain Editor --> Select "GNU Make Builder" for Current builder)

    Best regards,
    Sophia

  3. #3
    frankmag is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    26
    Points
    82.8125
    The problem is related to system path. In my case I have installed also the avr tool toolchain. The echo command that is under that environment is in the system path and that causes the error.
    If I ran dave4 after removing the avr toolchain path from system path then everything compiles ok.

    If I change to "GNU Make Builder" then another compilation error appears: even this one is related to system path infact something related to another compiler ( embarcadero ) is called and I get a lot of syntax errors.

    The best workaround I have found for the moment is to run dave from a batch file like this:
    set PATH=
    DAVE-4.0.0.exe

    And I use Project>Active Project Properties>C/C++ Build> Tool Chain Editor -->XMC Builder

    With dave 3.1.10 I hadn't this problem because in the autogenerated files subdir.mk, there was a call to @echo ' ' at the end of a compilation command.
    In dave 4, the subdir.mk files holds @echo. as last ending compilation command. That . is the problem( don't know why ). Why is generetion of subdir.mk files changed from dave3 to dave 4 ?

    Thanks
    Frank

  4. #4
    Advanced Advanced sophia is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    678
    Points
    2190
    Hi Frank,

    In DAVE v3.1 @echo ' ' doesn't print a newline but ' ', so it has been changed to @echo.
    Now in DAVE v4 it is used to show the start and the end of compilation during parallel build. But it will be removed in the next version of DAVE (eTicket 392707691).

    Best regards,
    Sophia

  5. #5
    Beginner Beginner Val-R is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    29
    Points
    70.46875
    The error ticket
    #392707691 says the problem has been fixed in Dave 4 Release 4.1.14 but we are facing the same issue in Dave 4.3.2. It seems like the fix has been droppped somehow.

  6. #6
    New Member New Member aikihana is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    3
    Points
    27.5
    This is still happening in DAVE version 4.4.2

    ugly hack of a workaround:
    sudo cp /bin/echo /usr/local/bin/echo.

    Last edited by aikihana; May 13th, 2018 at 05:01 PM.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Disclaimer

All content and materials on this site are provided “as is“. Infineon makes no warranties or representations with regard to this content and these materials of any kind, whether express or implied, including without limitation, warranties or representations of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement of any third party intellectual property right. No license, whether express or implied, is granted by Infineon. Use of the information on this site may require a license from a third party, or a license from Infineon.


Infineon accepts no liability for the content and materials on this site being accurate, complete or up- to-date or for the contents of external links. Infineon distances itself expressly from the contents of the linked pages, over the structure of which Infineon has no control.


Content on this site may contain or be subject to specific guidelines or limitations on use. All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to the Usage Terms of the site; third parties using this content agree to abide by any limitations or guidelines and to comply with the Usage Terms of this site. Infineon reserves the right to make corrections, deletions, modifications, enhancements, improvements and other changes to the content and materials, its products, programs and services at any time or to move or discontinue any content, products, programs, or services without notice.