My first experience with DAVE - Ping Pong Game for XMC4500 Microcontroller

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Pranava_Tripath
Employee
Employee
Recently I downloaded DAVE. What I really like the most about DAVE is that it abstracts detail of the controller hardware (which as a software developer I always find cumbersome), and that it avoids complexity of writing time consuming low level drivers and libraries.

In approximately 20 min I could compile, build, and debug a simple display example project. Later I extended the example project to make a Ping Pong game (source code attached below) that uses XMC4500 in-built ADC to move the paddle or bat to avoid the ball from falling. See the attached image below.

932.attach

Detail of my experiment:

(1) Boards used: CPU Board XMC4500 General Purpose and Standard Human Machine Interface

(2) Install DAVE and then install Apps from http://www.infineon.com/DAVE. (In case you need any help refer https://www.infineon.com/dgdl/DAVE+Quick+Start+PresentationTutorial+v2-1.pdf?folderId=5546d4694909da.... This document provides detail steps to install apps and run the example project.)

(3) Download OLED Display GUISL-Example1.

a. In DAVE IDE, Help -> Install DAVE Apps/Example Libraries (this opens Library Manager Wizard)
b. Under ‘Work with:’, select ‘DAVE Project Library Manager’ option (combo box)
c. Under ‘Libraries’, select XMC4000 -> XMC4500 Series -> DAVE3 Example Projects with DAVE Apps -> Human Machine Interface -> Graphical User Interface -> OLED Display GUISL-Example1, and press Next
d. Accept the term and press Finish. Now the selected example project will be downloaded.
e. Press ‘Yes’ to import example project in workspace.