infineon4engi@twitter infineon@linkedin infineon4engineers infineon@youtube
twitter Facebook Linkedin Youtube

Banner_DigitalMotorController Banner_IMM100_Series Banner_IMC100Series Banner_IRMCSeries Banner_iMotionApplicationKit


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: IMC301A usart connection problem

  1. #1
    Beginner Beginner nuhdede is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    7
    Points
    60

    IMC301A usart connection problem

    i bought IMC301A MCE. I connect all Vcc and Vss pin. In the beginnig i could connect MCE and prgrammed it with MCEDesigner. I used IRMC301t firmware and sample parameters. After download program to MCE. I could not connect MCE with USART. How can i reach MCE again with USART?

  2. #2

    Infineon Employee
    Infineon Employee
    Expert
    Casey is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by nuhdede View Post
    i bought IMC301A MCE. I connect all Vcc and Vss pin. In the beginnig i could connect MCE and prgrammed it with MCEDesigner. I used IRMC301t firmware and sample parameters. After download program to MCE. I could not connect MCE with USART. How can i reach MCE again with USART?
    Hi Nuhdede,
    Was the firmware successfully programmed or did you encounter an error? Have you checked the connection to make sure it is trying to connect through the right com port? On top toolbar in MCEDesigner select Preferences>Connection.
    The views expressed here are my personal opinions, have not been reviewed or authorized by Infineon and do not necessarily represent the views of Infineon.

  3. #3
    Beginner Beginner nuhdede is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    7
    Points
    60
    hi Casey,
    i tried 2 different MCE, first one programing without error. Second one with error. But both act same. No connection after download firmware and paramter. Connection and com port righti checked again and again. when i power up MCE, It send me 0xFE on USART. I tried both UART 0 AND 1. MCE Send something only 115200 baudrate.

  4. #4

    Infineon Employee
    Infineon Employee
    Expert
    Casey is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by nuhdede View Post
    hi Casey,
    i tried 2 different MCE, first one programing without error. Second one with error. But both act same. No connection after download firmware and paramter. Connection and com port righti checked again and again. when i power up MCE, It send me 0xFE on USART. I tried both UART 0 AND 1. MCE Send something only 115200 baudrate.
    Hi Nuhdede,
    A couple things to check to help debug:
    • You said you programmed with IRMC301t firmware. I think this was just a typo but please make sure you are programming with IMC301-A firmware which is downloaded through IMC301A-F064 MCE Software Package found on website. The firmware in package will be labeled as IMC301A-F064_A_V1.02.01.ldf. If a non compatible firmware is used, the IC would go into SBSL model and not be able to connect to MCEDesigner
    • Did you design your own pcb for this IC or are you using some socket to implement? If using a socket, the power rail filtering and decoupling capacitance may not be enough to ensure stable operation.
    • Check UART. Only UART0 on T core can be used to communicate with MCEDesigner. UART0_A and UART1_A are on A core and is not designed to communicate with MCEDesigner.
    The views expressed here are my personal opinions, have not been reviewed or authorized by Infineon and do not necessarily represent the views of Infineon.

  5. #5
    Beginner Beginner nuhdede is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    7
    Points
    60
    Hi Casey,

    - I programmed with IMC301A-F064 MCE software packagewhich i download website. MCE go into SBSL mode i think. Because it send usart 0XFE on startup. If it is in SBSL mode how can i reach and clear it?
    - I Use simple pcb u can see it in attachment. I used stable voltage regulator.
    - I controlled uart many time.

    I think problem is MCE go into SBSL mode .

    thank you.Click image for larger version

Name:	PCB.jpeg
Views:	0
Size:	160.3 KB
ID:	4609

  6. #6

    Infineon Employee
    Infineon Employee
    Expert
    Casey is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by nuhdede View Post
    Hi Casey,

    - I programmed with IMC301A-F064 MCE software packagewhich i download website. MCE go into SBSL mode i think. Because it send usart 0XFE on startup. If it is in SBSL mode how can i reach and clear it?
    - I Use simple pcb u can see it in attachment. I used stable voltage regulator.
    - I controlled uart many time.

    I think problem is MCE go into SBSL mode .

    thank you.Attachment 4609
    Hi Nuhdede,
    SBSL mode is the default setting and how the IC comes when purchased. It would need to be programmed with the firmware and the parameters again. Are you able to reprogram? Or is the device not recognized at all and you are getting a com port error because the device is not seen? Are you getting any errors in MCEDesigner? Please see attached the MCEDesigner guide just to make sure you are programming correctly.
    Another possible reason could be that the VDD and VSS pins require proper local decoupling capacitance to ensure stable operation of IC.
    MCEDesigner_V2.1.2.0 Application Guide.pdf
    The views expressed here are my personal opinions, have not been reviewed or authorized by Infineon and do not necessarily represent the views of Infineon.

  7. #7
    Beginner Beginner nuhdede is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    7
    Points
    60
    Hello casey,

    I added 333nf capacitor between Vdd and Vss.Nothing change. My problem occur after programing IC. At the beginnig i can connect IC easly. When i programmed it i couldnt reach again. It happens same at two IC. I read appşication and did what it said many times.

    when i power on IC, It send 0xFF to serial port. After that nothing.
    You can see some picture in attachment.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	connection tab.JPG
Views:	0
Size:	98.4 KB
ID:	4618Click image for larger version

Name:	connection.JPG
Views:	0
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	4619Click image for larger version

Name:	download page.JPG
Views:	0
Size:	119.3 KB
ID:	4620Click image for larger version

Name:	Firmware and parameter.JPG
Views:	0
Size:	84.0 KB
ID:	4621Click image for larger version

Name:	openMCEDesigner.JPG
Views:	0
Size:	99.8 KB
ID:	4622Click image for larger version

Name:	protocol analyzer.JPG
Views:	3
Size:	116.1 KB
ID:	4623

  8. #8
    Beginner Beginner nuhdede is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    7
    Points
    60
    problem not solved.

  9. #9

    Infineon Employee
    Infineon Employee
    Expert
    Casey is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by nuhdede View Post
    problem not solved.
    Hi Nuhdede,
    I was able to recreate the device failing to program firmware. The issue of why it failed is most likely different but when the device fails and goes in SBSL mode, MCEDesigner will not recognize it. You can still attempt to reprogram, but you may also now be locked out of the IC and will no longer be able to. To try to program in SBSL mode follow the steps below:

    Power-up the device then start MCEDesigner. The tool first checks if the agent code responds which it will not of course, and you will get the error message in MCEDesigner. Ignore the error by selecting cancel and open programmer window by selecting Tools>programmer. NOW un-power then re-power the device in order to reset the bootstrap loader of the chip. This is a mandatory action. After that, chose the files (don’t mix up parameters and firmware file) and start download.
    The views expressed here are my personal opinions, have not been reviewed or authorized by Infineon and do not necessarily represent the views of Infineon.

  10. #10
    Beginner Beginner nuhdede is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    7
    Points
    60
    Hi Casey,

    I tried ur solution, but still i cant connect. I add protocol analyzer output.Click image for larger version

Name:	protocol analyzer.JPG
Views:	0
Size:	109.7 KB
ID:	4635

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Disclaimer

All content and materials on this site are provided “as is“. Infineon makes no warranties or representations with regard to this content and these materials of any kind, whether express or implied, including without limitation, warranties or representations of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement of any third party intellectual property right. No license, whether express or implied, is granted by Infineon. Use of the information on this site may require a license from a third party, or a license from Infineon.


Infineon accepts no liability for the content and materials on this site being accurate, complete or up- to-date or for the contents of external links. Infineon distances itself expressly from the contents of the linked pages, over the structure of which Infineon has no control.


Content on this site may contain or be subject to specific guidelines or limitations on use. All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to the Usage Terms of the site; third parties using this content agree to abide by any limitations or guidelines and to comply with the Usage Terms of this site. Infineon reserves the right to make corrections, deletions, modifications, enhancements, improvements and other changes to the content and materials, its products, programs and services at any time or to move or discontinue any content, products, programs, or services without notice.