infineon4engi@twitter infineon@linkedin infineon4engineers infineon@youtube
twitter Facebook Linkedin Youtube

Banner_DigitalMotorController Banner_IMM100_Series Banner_IMC100Series Banner_IRMCSeries Banner_iMotionApplicationKit


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: problem : start a motor with Mce Designer

  1. #1
    New Member New Member marcuccio1995 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    10
    Points
    105

    problem : start a motor with Mce Designer

    Hi everyone, I use the Evaluation board Eval-M1-101T with the Eval-M1-05-65D to control the speed of a motor.

    I have a problem when I want to start the motor, it indicates me an error because of the DC Critical Over Voltage.

    I tried to change the value of it but it indicates me an error too

    please , if someone can help me it would be very grateful.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	connection.JPG
Views:	3
Size:	46.0 KB
ID:	4456

    Click image for larger version

Name:	erreur tension moteur - Copy.png
Views:	4
Size:	104.6 KB
ID:	4455

  2. #2

    Infineon Employee
    Infineon Employee
    Expert
    Casey is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by marcuccio1995 View Post
    Hi everyone, I use the Evaluation board Eval-M1-101T with the Eval-M1-05-65D to control the speed of a motor.

    I have a problem when I want to start the motor, it indicates me an error because of the DC Critical Over Voltage.

    I tried to change the value of it but it indicates me an error too

    please , if someone can help me it would be very grateful.

    Attachment 4456

    Attachment 4455
    Hi Marcuccio1995,
    What is your DC Bus Over-value set as? Please provide me a screenshot of the parameters in MCEWizard (from the advanced page like the example) and I can help you determine what may be the issue. Have you made any modifications to the power board?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	DCBusparameters.PNG
Views:	3
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	4462
    The views expressed here are my personal opinions, have not been reviewed or authorized by Infineon and do not necessarily represent the views of Infineon.

  3. #3
    New Member New Member marcuccio1995 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    10
    Points
    105
    Quote Originally Posted by Casey View Post
    Hi Marcuccio1995,
    What is your DC Bus Over-value set as? Please provide me a screenshot of the parameters in MCEWizard (from the advanced page like the example) and I can help you determine what may be the issue. Have you made any modifications to the power board?
    Attachment 4462
    @Casey : Hello, here is a screenshot of my configuration

    Click image for larger version

Name:	config.JPG
Views:	8
Size:	171.7 KB
ID:	4476

  4. #4

    Infineon Employee
    Infineon Employee
    Expert
    Casey is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by marcuccio1995 View Post
    @Casey : Hello, here is a screenshot of my configuration

    Attachment 4476
    How much input AC voltage are you supplying? The IPM on your control board (IRSM505-065) can only support a max DC bus voltage of 400V (breakdown voltage is around 500V) so you will need to lower your maximum DC Bus and over-voltage levels. The 499.54V value you have set is the sensing range of the DC Bus circuit, but the maximum DC bus value should be set to 400V for the IPM and recommended overvoltage level set to around 380. If you already went over 500V, some capacitors (and possibly the IPM) may have been damaged as I believe some of the components are rated for less than this. I can check though once I know your input voltage.
    The views expressed here are my personal opinions, have not been reviewed or authorized by Infineon and do not necessarily represent the views of Infineon.

  5. #5
    New Member New Member marcuccio1995 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    10
    Points
    105
    Quote Originally Posted by Casey View Post
    How much input AC voltage are you supplying? The IPM on your control board (IRSM505-065) can only support a max DC bus voltage of 400V (breakdown voltage is around 500V) so you will need to lower your maximum DC Bus and over-voltage levels. The 499.54V value you have set is the sensing range of the DC Bus circuit, but the maximum DC bus value should be set to 400V for the IPM and recommended overvoltage level set to around 380. If you already went over 500V, some capacitors (and possibly the IPM) may have been damaged as I believe some of the components are rated for less than this. I can check though once I know your input voltage.
    I supply at 230V

    yes indeed, I've measured the voltage of the filter capacitor and had around 535V at its terminals
    Last edited by marcuccio1995; Feb 25th, 2020 at 10:11 AM.

  6. #6

    Infineon Employee
    Infineon Employee
    Expert
    Casey is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by marcuccio1995 View Post
    I supply at 230V

    yes indeed, I've measured the voltage of the filter capacitor and had around 535V at its terminals
    230VAC should be no problem as that provides a DC bus voltage of around 325V. I am not sure how you are seeing 535V unless you were providing more than 230VAC?
    I recommend updating your MCEWizard file to reflect the allowed voltage levels: Maximum DC Bus Voltage=400V, DC Bus Over-Voltage Level=360 (since you only have 330Vmax), and Critical voltage level =380V to protect capacitors and IPM. Once done, verify and export this file and program controller in MCEDesigner by selecting Tools>programmer.
    You are getting the critical voltage error because you currently have it set at 330V, which is around your normal operating voltage. I have attached the description of critical voltage. This may have also protected your capacitor and IPM if you really did see 535V. I would make sure your input AC voltage is stable before more testing.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	CriticalVoltage.PNG
Views:	2
Size:	120.4 KB
ID:	4483
    Last edited by Casey; Feb 25th, 2020 at 02:17 PM. Reason: Added more information
    The views expressed here are my personal opinions, have not been reviewed or authorized by Infineon and do not necessarily represent the views of Infineon.

  7. #7
    New Member New Member fabiocer is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    10
    Points
    211.25
    Hi Marcuccio,
    it seems you are supplying the board with two phases of a 380V 3-phases line.
    In fact, 380*sqrt(2) = 535V
    IMHO I would check first the cable feeding the board, maybe there’s something wrong in the plug connections.
    Best Regards
    Fabio

+ Reply to Thread
Disclaimer

All content and materials on this site are provided “as is“. Infineon makes no warranties or representations with regard to this content and these materials of any kind, whether express or implied, including without limitation, warranties or representations of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement of any third party intellectual property right. No license, whether express or implied, is granted by Infineon. Use of the information on this site may require a license from a third party, or a license from Infineon.


Infineon accepts no liability for the content and materials on this site being accurate, complete or up- to-date or for the contents of external links. Infineon distances itself expressly from the contents of the linked pages, over the structure of which Infineon has no control.


Content on this site may contain or be subject to specific guidelines or limitations on use. All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to the Usage Terms of the site; third parties using this content agree to abide by any limitations or guidelines and to comply with the Usage Terms of this site. Infineon reserves the right to make corrections, deletions, modifications, enhancements, improvements and other changes to the content and materials, its products, programs and services at any time or to move or discontinue any content, products, programs, or services without notice.