I2c001

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Not applicable
Hi,
I am new at DAVE and I2C.

I would like to connect a SRF10 to my XMC4500 lite with I2C.
i got the I2C001 (1.0.28) app and wrote(for testing):

I2C001_Type data1,data2,data3,data4,data5;
data1.TDF_Type = I2C_TDF_MStart;
data1.Data = (0xE0 | I2C_WRITE);
while (!I2C001_WriteData(&I2C001_Handle0,&data1));

i assigned the pin 0.8(SCL) and 1.5(SDA), set them to open drain and connected them with pull up to 5V and to the SRF10.

the whole connection would not work, since i measrure just ~3.9V at SCL and SDA.
I also would like to test if the board sends signals. To what shall I connect the pins to test if they are sending signals?

Greetings
louisk
0 Likes
3 Replies
Not applicable
> i assigned the pin 0.8(SCL) and 1.5(SDA), set them to open drain and connected them with pull up to 5V and to the SRF10.
> the whole connection would not work, since i measrure just ~3.9V at SCL and SDA.
> I also would like to test if the board sends signals. To what shall I connect the pins to test if they are sending signals?

I don't think you can pull up these pins to 5V.
According to the data sheet, these are class A pads.
They are limited to min(VDDP+1V , 4.3V), after that ESD protection kicks in.
So you must pull up to VDDP, i.e. 3.3V.

I think you are risking pad damage right now, depending on the current through the protection diodes.
There are bidirectional level shifters like the PCA9306 (Texas Instruments) you could use on SDA/SCL.

Miguel
0 Likes
Not applicable
ok thank you. So i need some kind of a level converter to operate I2C on 3.3V and 5V at the same time? i thought there was a standatisation for voltage.

nevertheless. How can i test if there are signals coming out of the two pins?
0 Likes
AndreasG
Employee
Employee
10 replies posted 5 replies posted Welcome!
As louisk says, level shifters are the safe way to handle this.